RSS

CHOOSE, LOSE

18 Oct

I am always confused about these words. choose, chose, lose, loose.

here I have found the correct meaning so I will be carefull. I wish to share with my readers.

(once a teacher always a teacher)

Choose: verb, present tense
Chose: verb, past tense
(Choose,  chose, chosen)

Lose: verb, to misplace something or be defeated
Loose: adjective, when something is not securely fastened – not related at all, in any way, shape, or form, 

(past tense of lose is lost)  (Lose, lost, lost)

examples: I will choose mango whenever I’m offered mango and apple together.
                I chose you from so many suitors because of your simplicity.
I will lose this match if I am not very determined.
We lost because of a biased referee.
The cap of the thermos bottle was rather loose so the tea dripped all the way to the park.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2012 in DIL KA GHUBAAR

 

7 responses to “CHOOSE, LOSE

  1. Rafiullah Mian

    October 18, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    Thank you Sir,
    Agar aap isi tarah k asbaaq detay rahain tu meri English kuch behtar hojayegi 🙂

    Aek tuk-bandi English main dekhain with Urdu ‘taRka’ 🙂

    When ever I choose you as a partner
    Because of your “taghaaful” I loose temper

     
  2. salim598786

    October 21, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    Nice post for people like me. ( jinka haath angrezi mein kaafi tang hai)

     
    • shakilakhtar

      October 21, 2012 at 10:09 pm

      hamara bhi yeh hi haal hai. aaj kal spelling ki computer ki sahulat hai warna hamara bada masala hai.

       
  3. Blood-Ink-Diary

    October 30, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    Shakil sahab, whatever you ‘choose’, you shan’t ‘lose’ ! Let ‘loose’ what you ‘chose’ once upon a time that has now lost its’ memento !

    Indeed, a chuckle I have had with this post ! Bwana Shakil, asante sana rafiki yangu !

     
    • shakilakhtar

      October 30, 2012 at 9:35 pm

      Bwana and Rafiki two words have brightened my mood. Thanks 🙂 . Lady Nadira Naipaul used to write in The Nation (Lahore) “letter from Bhwalpur” and was quoted by Paul Theroux in his marvelous book on Nipaul (Sir Viddya’s Shadow). She used ‘loose’ for ‘lose’ and he wrote it as such with (sic). I was curious as I could not see why sic? Then I realised I was as confused as Nadira, the wife of a legend writer. Only now I thought to share my confusion with people.

       

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.