RSS

MAJBOORI

03 Aug

 

Chaahat mein kya duniya daari, ishq mein kaisi majboori
Logon ka kyaa samjhane do, un ki apni majboori

Main ne dil ki baat rakhi aur too ne duniya walon ki
Meri araz bhi majboori thi, Unka hukm bhi majboori

Rok sako to pehali baarish ki boondo ko tum roko
Kachhi mitti to mehake gi, hai mitti ki majboori

Jab tak hansta gaata maosam apna hai, sab apne hain
Waqt pade to yaad aa jaati hai musnooi majboori

Ek aawara baadal se kyon main ne saaya manga tha

Meri bhi yeh majboori thi, uski bhi thi majboori

Muddat guzari ek waade par, aaj bhi qaayam hain Mohsin
Humne saari umra nibhaai, apni pehali majboori

 

Love is above worldly norms, there are no excuses in true love

Let people make arguments, the heart cannot but do what it has to do, love.

 

I put fore ward the case of my heart and you were worried what the people would say

I had no choice in my love and so did the people have no choice but to talk.

 

Stop if you can the drops of the first rain

The bare earth is bound to, as it must, give out its unique odder.

 

Everyone is happily around me as long as the clime is good

When bad times arrive, everyone remembers silly excuses.

 

Why did I ever ask for some shade from a free floating cloud

I had no choice as it were and so he too had no choice.

 

So much time has gone, I am still true to the promise I made, O Mohsin

I am happy to admit I stuck to my first ever love all my life.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2017 in adab and literature, Urdu Poetry, videos

 

5 responses to “MAJBOORI

  1. Sonya Kassam

    August 4, 2017 at 2:08 am

    Very beautiful! Thank you for sharing and translating.

     
    • Sonya Kassam

      August 4, 2017 at 2:09 am

      Who is the singer? And in one of the comments it was mentioned this is was Darbari. Would you know?

       
      • shakilakhtar

        August 4, 2017 at 5:42 pm

        Thanks Sonya, The singer is Gulbahar Bano and it was composed in 1980 on PTV. The poet is Mohsin Bhopali. I like the music and the poetry and do not know about raags. Raag Darbaari or other for me it is difficult to know.

         
  2. Madhu

    August 15, 2017 at 6:36 am

    Captivating voice and poetry! I Googled Gul Bahar Bano and got caught up in her fascinating story. Thank you for sharing Shakil. Hope all is well with you.

     
    • shakilakhtar

      August 15, 2017 at 10:44 am

      Thanks Madhu and yes we are all fine. Alhamdulillah.

       

Leave a Reply

 
