RSS

My mother’s dairy

29 Oct

This nazm (in her own hand writing) is in my mom’s diary which she left me over 60 years ago. I want to share it with my readers. The poet’s name is not known.

ammi

Na jaane phir meri jaan e haziN rahe na rahe

Ye rooh khaana e tan meiN rahe na rahe

Ye sar rahe na rahe ye jabeeN rahe na rahe

Hai khatm silsila e intezaar aa jaao

tumheN wafa ki qasam ek baar aa jaao

bara e naam bhi dil meiN sukooN ka naam nahiN

hayat e shauq  ka pahla sa wo nizaam nahiN

k subh, subh nahin koyi sham, sham nahiN

nahiN hai zeest ka kuchh etbaar aa jaao

tumheN wafa ki qasam ek baar aa jaao

main ashk o khooN mein daaman o dil bhigo bhi chukka

mataye sabr o sukoon o qarar kho bhi chukka

jo aah, hona tha anjaam e shauq hob hi chukka

k main huN hamaa tan inteshaar aa jao

tumheN wafa ki qasam ek baar aa jaao

[who knows if my sad life will survive

If my soul will remain inside my body

If this head, or this forehead will remain high]

[Come now (O beloved) as the waiting is over

 Just once, in the name of faithfulness, come]

 

[There is not a trace of peace in my heart

The Love life has lost its earlier regime

The morning is not the same, nor is the night

I am not sure of this life any more

Just once, in the name of faithfulness, come]

 

My dress is wet with my tears and blood

I have lost the treasure of peace and quiet

Alas, the inevitable end of love has happened

I am now in total disarray

Just once, in the name of faithfulness, come]

dairydairy2

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2016 in Meri Ammi ki diary se

 

14 responses to “My mother’s dairy

  1. Sonya Kassam

    October 29, 2016 at 6:42 pm

    This is such a wonderful memory. I also see some English notes. She wrote that?

     
    • shakilakhtar

      October 29, 2016 at 9:30 pm

      No She was home trained and learnt English from my College going uncles. This piece about Marconi was written by Uncle Ilyas who recently died. This is in fact his chemistry notebook which she apparently ‘borrowed’ 🙂
      Thanks for your interest Soniya ji.

       
      • Sonya Kassam

        October 29, 2016 at 10:49 pm

        A treasure for sure!

         
  2. salim598786

    October 30, 2016 at 4:11 am

    Although the poet’s name is not known but this poetry speaks for itself and the poet must have been some great poet.

     
    • shakilakhtar

      October 30, 2016 at 10:40 am

      Sir, remember I sent you this nazm once years ago and you so lovingly garlanded it beautifully using I do not know what magic. I had to translate it on the request of one my friend Sheela and thus I got material for this blog. She loves Urdu but cannot read. I thank you again.

       
  3. Sheela Nandini

    October 30, 2016 at 5:54 pm

    Dear Sir, I have tears in my eyes after reading the translation…and can only admire the sheer beauty of this whole post. And you know that I can never express my gratitude to you fully and to God for bringing you into my life.You are always so kind and helpful and I grateful for all these shared interests. And these poignant memories of a golden age that you share with me. It is still golden because you carry Ammi Jan’s Love within you.This I feel is the greatest legacy one can have..the biggest treasure that never loses its value with the passing of Time…Thanks also to Salim Sir for adorning those beautiful verses in the way he has done.Truly magical! These verses somehow link with Khanom Parasto’s ghazal which I sent you…I don’t know the meaning of that song in Farsi but I think the depth and richness of these verses resonate in her song too …

    For a broken heart knows…

    Lots of love
    sheela

     
  4. Sheela Nandini

    October 30, 2016 at 5:58 pm

    Dear Sir, I cannot thank you enough. I have tears in my eyes after reading the translation of the nazm. This will always be so special to me .Lots of love, sheela

     
  5. Dr Yousuf Qureshi

    October 30, 2016 at 10:00 pm

    Very good Nazm with a beautiful and neat handwriting Shakeel sahib. Greetings from Metz in France.

     
  6. Sheela Nandini

    October 31, 2016 at 12:12 am

    Sir so happy to see my comments here -at last! some technical glitch I suppose.I thought I lost both messages.Sorry about the repetition, though.

     
  7. Tariq Nawaz

    November 1, 2016 at 5:45 am

    Beautiful memories and beautiful poetry……

     

Leave a Reply

 
