RSS

SAARANG by Asad Mohammad Khan

13 Jul

I recently read a book by Asad Mohammad Khan named “Ghusse ki nayi fasai” and this afsana is one of several which have left me with a lot of ghussa (anger). Because I did not udnerstand it but still liked it very much. Interesting na?

{Shiv and Parvati are Gods who gave birth to a child whose face is that of an elephant (Gaja) and who is also a god called Ganesha. He has an enormous belly and is a child. Apparently he is waiting for his transport to take him to Kindergarten in the ‘Dev lok’ meaning upper world. But in this local world there is this boy of 18 and a girl of 17. The girl insists and proves that she is elder to him]

If you understand this afsana please teach me in the comments. Any way I liked the mystery and especially the end lines: “تم ستیہ ہو ، شو اور سندر بھی” [you are the truth, and Shiv and Beauty also]

Sorry, an attempt at translation will ruin the whole magic.so I leave it as it is in Urdu.

sarang1 sarang2 sarang3 sarang4

 

narang5 narang6 narang7 narang8 narang9 narang10

11 12 13 14

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2016 in adab and literature, Afsaane

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “SAARANG by Asad Mohammad Khan

  1. Carolyn Page

    July 14, 2016 at 12:19 am

    I cannot help you, I’m sorry. Though, the mystery of it arouses my curiosity!
    I love the image of Ganesha… 🙂

     
    • shakilakhtar

      July 14, 2016 at 11:30 am

      thank you very much Carolyn. I will try to translate it for you. but you will need some background knowledge of Hindu mythology.

       

Leave a Reply

 
