RSS

guru govind dou khaDe

05 Sep

Today 5th September is World Teachers Day.

In Indian culture, teachers (Guru) have paramount place as far as respect and regard is concerned.

This is demonstrated aptly by this doha (presumably by Kabir)

गुरु  गोविंद दोऊ खड़े , काके लागूं पाए

बलिहारी गुरु आप की, गोविंद डयो बताये

Guru Govind dou khaDe, kake laagooN paaye

Balihari guru aap ki, Govind dayo bataaye.

[I find my teacher and my God both standing in front of me, I am at a loss as to whom should I offer my respect first. Then I realized it was my teacher who taught me every thing about my God, so I proceeded and offered my respect to him first.]

Those of us who care must think about it now.

teachersday

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2014 in adab and literature

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “guru govind dou khaDe

  1. Sharmishtha

    September 9, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    i always had a great relationship with both Guru and God 🙂
    very good!

     
    • shakilakhtar

      September 10, 2014 at 7:27 am

      Thanks Sharmistha Ji. Khush raho always. 🙂

       
      • Sharmishtha

        September 27, 2014 at 8:52 pm

        thanks my dear friend. I am mostly very happy 🙂

         
  2. krithya G

    September 22, 2014 at 11:20 am

    I remember this one from my hindi text book probably when I was in the 8th grade. At the time this was merely a part of my syllabus but it was hard to appreciate the depth and the beauty that these couplets conceal or reveal. It takes a minute or two to read them but a lifetime to truly appreciate them. Thanks for sharing this.

     
    • shakilakhtar

      September 22, 2014 at 8:42 pm

      I do not remember since when I remember this one(1960?) but yes it takes a life time to fully appreciate the beauty and the truth it shows. I am also not sure whether this is a Kabir or Rahim’s doha. Thanks for gracing my humble abode.

       
  3. krithya G

    September 22, 2014 at 11:22 am

    By the way world teacher’s day I think is on October 5th. It is only in India that teacher’s day is celebrated on September 5th.

     
    • shakilakhtar

      September 22, 2014 at 8:44 pm

      I do not know but in Brunei it is called,”Hari Guru” Hari in Malay means din. (day).and perhaps they celebrate it on 5th Oct.

       
  4. Madhu

    November 6, 2014 at 8:57 pm

    A beautiful Doha Shakil, that I fully agree with. Thanks for sharing.

     
    • shakilakhtar

      November 7, 2014 at 9:31 am

      We all have respected in our days our teachers even without knowing this doha. but it really depicts what is almost natural.

       

Leave a Reply

 
