RSS

AMIR KHUSROW

02 Nov
For more, please see allpoetry.com from where I have copied the following. But first listen to it on the YOUTUBE

Chaap Tilak

user img
Chhap tilak sab cheeni ray mosay naina milaikay
Chhap tilak sab cheeni ray mosay naina milaikay
Prem bhatee ka madhva pilaikay
Matvali kar leeni ray mosay naina milaikay
Gori gori bayyan, hari hari churiyan
Bayyan pakar dhar leeni ray mosay naina milaikay
Bal bal jaaon mein toray rang rajwa
Apni see kar leeni ray mosay naina milaikay
Khusrau Nijaam kay bal bal jayyiye
Mohay Suhaagan keeni ray mosay naina milaikay
Chhap tilak sab cheeni ray mosay naina milaikayTranslation
You’ve taken away my looks, my identity, by just a glance.
By making me drink the wine of love-potion,
You’ve intoxicated me by just a glance;
My fair, delicate wrists with green bangles in them,
Have been held tightly by you with just a glance.
I give my life to you, Oh my cloth-dyer,
You’ve dyed me in yourself, by just a glance.
I give my whole life to you Oh, Nijam,
You’ve made me your bride, by just a glance.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2013 in adab and literature

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “AMIR KHUSROW

  1. Rafiullah Mian

    November 2, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    Actually, I do understand it with your translation into Enlgish — without which I wouldn’t able to understand these lines. But, that one thing of “cloth-dyer” is a bit questionable, I think!
    Beautiful poetry of that time.

     
  2. shakilakhtar

    November 3, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    First of all thanks for the like. I have been listening to this poem (sufi) sung by many singers including Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and down to Mica Singh. But Richa Sharma here is mind blowing.
    It is a famous poem by Amir Khusrow and Rang Rajwa is dyer
    These were the order of the day like we go and buy a loaf of bread these days.
    Wait for my next post for rang Rajwa.

     
  3. White Pearl

    November 15, 2013 at 5:30 am

    How beautiful poetry is this……Love it too. Your blog is an amazing place to refresh my Urdu poetry reading skills I guess 🙂

     
    • shakilakhtar

      November 15, 2013 at 6:16 pm

      The beauty of this one is in its Bhoijpuri accent and in its simplicity. All poetry is beautiful in its own right. Thank you dear for gracing this humble abode.

       
      • White Pearl

        November 16, 2013 at 3:21 am

        Pleasure is all mine sir 🙂

         
  4. Saadat Hussain Naqvi

    August 6, 2014 at 4:25 am

    Khusrau Nijaam kay bal bal jayyiye— This refers to Hazrat Nizam ud Din Auliya Dehlavi – The revered Saint–

     
    • shakilakhtar

      August 6, 2014 at 1:34 pm

      Thank you very much, Saadat Naqvi sahab, for this explanation. I missed it completely.

       

Leave a Reply

 
