RSS

Ghalib and Faisal Wadood

29 May

Ghalib ki zameen mein ek khoobsoorat Ghazal, Faisal Wadood ne kamal kar dia hai. Daagh ne bhi aesi hi koshish ki thi. please see my post: GHALIB AND DAAGH https://shakilakhtar.wordpress.com/2012/08/21/ghalib-and-daagh/

GHAZAL (DESIGNED BY: NAZLY AFZAL SHAH)

ghazal

ghazal

Faisal Wadood’s Ghazal in Ghalib’s zameen is given below in Roman and with translation:

Paiwastah hain asrar e muhabbat se nishan aur
Hota hai yaqeen tujh pe to barhta hai guman aur

[the mysteries of love are mixed  with different signs

the more I believe in you, the more I face doubts.]

 
Kia teri muhabbat hai? Ayan aur! Nihan aur!
Dil aur! Jigar aur! Khirad aur! Fughan aur!

[Is this your love?, Now open, now veiled?

Your heart, your resolve, your mind and your wail?(all manifest differently?)]

 

Ab aur hai dastoor e wafa, ramz e muhabbat
Ab garmi e bazar hai aye sheeshah garan aur!

[ love and its moves, traditions of faithfulness, all different now

O you traders of the fine art, market place has a new commotion]

Lab khol keh aye naaz rasa, har chukay hum!
Ab ji mein hai kuch hausla, na jism mein jan aur!

[you being a great comforter, I remain uncared for even after sharing my misery.

I find no more courage and feel very week now.]

 
Mana keh nahin shehr e muhabbat mein thikana
Dhoondain ge kisi dasht mein hum apna jahan aur!

[I know I have no place in the annals of love

I will now find abode in some remote desert.]

 

Tu ne jisay likha tha lab e sahil e hasti
Har mauj mitati hai wohi naam o nishan aur!

[The impressions you made on the ‘sand’ of the life’s beach

each ‘wave’ is out to erase all of it completely]

Muddat se tere hijr mein thakta nahin kam bakht!
Kyun aaj bhi rahta hai yeh dil nauha kanan aur?

[even after years of longing for you, my unfortunate heart remains unbeaten

yet it is ever ready at the slimmest prodding to uncontrollable weeping.

 

Dil tornay walay! Tujhe teri hi qasam hai!
Haan khol kamar aur utha teer o kaman aur!

[O you who broke my heart, I dare you in your own name

come, bring all you have in your arsenal and use them on me]

 

 

Aye dost, dam e hashr bhi tanha hi rahay hum
Dhoondain ge tujhe ja ke meri jan, kahan aur?

[O my Friend, I remain alone even on the Judgement Day

Where else do you think should I look for you]

Hai Dagh ka asloob to Ghalib ki zameen hai
Ab sochiye ja kar koi andaz e bayan aur!

[Here it is flavour of Daagh, and the style is that of Ghalib

You are now free to start poetry in a different form]

Kia khoob kati hijr ki aaghosh mein Faisal
Jitna usay chaha woh hua dushman e jan aur!

[It was wonderful life living in want of my beloved.

The more I longed for her the more I found her averse to me]

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2013 in Ghalib ki Shan meiN

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Ghalib and Faisal Wadood

  1. Rafiullah Mian

    May 29, 2013 at 7:51 pm

    واہ، داغ کے اسلوب میں غالب کی زمین پر فیصل ودود صاحب نے کیا خوب غزل کہی ہے
    پڑھ کر لطف آیا
    چند اشعار بہت خوب اور برجستہ ہیں
    پس منظرمیں غالب کے چہرے پر جو بجلی گرائی گئی ہے، اس سے نادانستہ طور پر یہ اشارہ مل رہا ہے کہ ان پر غزل کے ذریعے کیا ظلم ڈھایا گیا ہے
    تفنن طبع برطرف، اس غزل کا مقطع بہت شان دار ہے
    اور اس میں کوئی دوسری رائے نہیں کہ آپ کا انتخاب قابل داد ہوا کرتا ہے

     
    • shakilakhtar

      May 30, 2013 at 3:12 pm

      فیصل کے مقطع سے مجھے ساغر وارثی (شاہجہاں پوری ) کا یہ شعر یاد آ گیا
      تیرے وعدہ ئے وفا کا ہے یقین مجھ کو لیکن
      ذرا مشورہ تو کر لوں دل بد گماں سے پہلے
      tere wadahye wafa ka hai yaqeen mujh ko lekin
      zara mashwarah to kar loon dil-e- bad gumaN se pahle

      جہاں تک انکے چہرے پر بجلی کا سوال ہے تو انپر پہلے بھی بہوت بجلیاں گر چکی ہیں – ممکن ہے آرٹسٹ کے خیال میں وہ ہی ہو جو آپ نے فرمایا (مذاق میں ہی سہی) 🙂 – میرے مطابق فیصل نےبہوت اچّھی کوشش کی ہے اور ہم کواسے سراہنا چاہیے – آپ کو تو پتہ ہے ہم غالب کے طرفدار نہیں ہیں

      اب ہر کوئی تو ایسے اشعار نہیں که سکتا ہے

      مرتا ہوں اس آواز پہ ہر چند سر اڑ جائے
      جلاد سے لیکن وہ کہے جاییں کہ ہاں اور

      – پذیرائی کا از حد شکریہ جناب

       
      • Rafiullah Mian

        May 31, 2013 at 8:16 pm

        جی جناب، اس کاوش پر فیصل قابل داد ہیں
        اور آپ غالب کے طرف دار ہیں یا نہیں ، اس بارے خود غالب سے پوچھ لیتے ہیں — لیں، وہ فرماتے ہیں
        ہر چند کہیں کہ ہے نہیں ہے

         
  2. Madhu

    May 29, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    Aah, so beautiful! Wish I could read it in Urdu.

     
    • shakilakhtar

      May 30, 2013 at 2:47 pm

      Urdu, like any language is beautiful and can be fully enjoyed in original only. But the translation is the next best that is available. Thanks for your trying.

       
  3. Sharmishtha

    June 7, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    they are amazing shakil. so very deep! I am so sad that I did not learned Urdu!

     
    • shakilakhtar

      June 8, 2013 at 10:50 am

      I have heard Bangla Bhasha is one of the sweetest languages on Earth.Very melodious and flowing. I wish I could enjoy it too but but.. I read only translations of Tagore.

       
      • Sharmishtha

        June 10, 2013 at 7:01 pm

        you can listen to his songs, they are rampantly available on internet. I will very arrogantly agree! I love bangla and it is really the sweetest language after Sanskrit and Urdu- I love to hear Urdu and Sanskrit without much understanding.

         
  4. The Lady in high heels

    June 10, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    Absolutely beautiful. Though the translation is very good indeed, the original verses in Urdu have a unique bitter-sweet flavour, which makes me wish that I could read them in Urdu. Truly appreciated the Roman version!

     
    • shakilakhtar

      June 11, 2013 at 2:32 pm

      I am glad you liked the verses. I thought you could read Urdu. any way, if you understand roman version then it is fine. The translation alone usually leave a lot to be desired. But I try to do it as far as possible for some readers with no Urdu at all. I do know my limitations as a translator though.

       
      • The Lady in high heels

        June 11, 2013 at 10:18 pm

        Unfortunately, my Urdu reading is not as fluent as I would like it to be, Roman versions spare me a lot of time! Look forward to find more in your blog.

         

Leave a Reply

 
