RSS

BLACK HOLE

31 Mar

TO SEE THE PICTURE OF BLACK HOLE, PLEASE GO TO THIS FILE OF MINE

 BLACK HOLE

BLACK HOLES ARE MASSIVE BODIES IN THE UNIVERSE SO HEAVY THAT EVEN LIGHT CANNOT ESCAPE FROM THEM.HENCE THEY CANNOT BE SEEN, BUT COULD BE FELT. 

 

BLACK HOLE

 

This wind screen reminds me of my mental picture of a ‘BLACK HOLE’ that Stephen Hawkins theorized and that Einstein said that the light rays will bend around massive celestial bodies travelling on a ‘curved’ space.

     Einstein’s theory was confirmed even in his life time. He was himself very humble and whenever he liked something he said so.

     To test his theory that the light bends around massive bodies, the scientists got a rare opportunity to prove by observing the position of a star during a total solar eclipse. The position of the star was known and because it was almost directly, but only just, behind the sum when observed from Earth, it was impossible to see it during the day due to shining Sun. The rays from it reached us by just grazing the edge of Sun.

      But when the Sun was blocked by the Moon (during the Solar eclipse), the star could be viewed and it was found that its position was somewhat changed from the known position. This only could be explained if it was accepted that the rays from the star have gone a little bending while passing from near the Sun. The pictures of this event which became hard proof of his theory were shown to Einstein. He said, “Beautiful”. The scientist who showed him those pictures said, “Yes, I know it is beautiful to have one’s theory proved thus”. Einstein said, “I am praising the pictures, and I had no doubt about the theory itself”.   

 

(Acknowledgement: The picture taken from New Zealand Herald of31 March, 2012)

 
20 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2012 in SCIENCE

 

20 responses to “BLACK HOLE

  1. Rafiullah Mian

    March 31, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    Nice connection 🙂

     
    • shakilakhtar

      March 31, 2012 at 9:23 pm

      the notion of ‘curved space’ is very subltle for it involves 4 dimentions (including that of time) and is impossible to depict physically. This screen shows something like it.

       
      • Rafiullah Mian

        March 31, 2012 at 9:35 pm

        exactly…Jab aik markaza explode karta hay tu wo charon simtoN main phailta hay…aor os k markaz main aesa hi aik sorakh ya kunwaN ban jata hay… like BH. 🙂
        ohh.. ye mera apna falsafa hay :p

         
      • shakilakhtar

        April 1, 2012 at 9:56 am

        Great idea. today I can say I understand Einstein. Thanks Rafi Sahab for trying. I commend your courage and resourcefulness. But sadly I think it is a little different though. 🙂

         
  2. MASOOD

    April 1, 2012 at 4:50 am

    These matters are unfathomable . Our minds are not equipped to go deep into it. If we understand one phenomenon then another 100 Questions come up. Even then curiosity is man’s second nature, thanks Shakil Bhai

     
    • shakilakhtar

      April 1, 2012 at 10:01 am

      Unfathomable is to all but a few, and we are not in those few. But we can always try. curiosity takes over. Thanks sir.

       
  3. Rafiullah Mian

    April 2, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    Definitely, it’s too different!
    Main nay Einstein ki theory ka ‘Tiya-Pancha’ hi kardena hay. Aek poet aor kar bhi kia sakta hay 🙂

     
  4. Blood-Ink-Diary

    April 11, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Interesting post Shakil sahab! Didn’t Ibne Sina (Roman Avicenna) already mention this in his writings? Einstein tou baad aaya na. Shakil sahab, keep posting!

    @ Rafi Mian: bilkul poet buhut kar sakta hai. That’s the beauty of art — what one see’s is not necessarily what the other see’s. In the world of philosophy – reasoning and logic attributes an opinion / theory.

    Khush rahein. Cheers.

     
    • shakilakhtar

      April 11, 2012 at 9:47 pm

      Thank you Shaheen Jee for your contribution on this topic. Bu Ali seena, I learnt only today from the net, seems to have ‘seen’ some holes in the sky when he was born. Incredible isn’t it? I cannot claim that I understand the phenomenon of Blach Holes even a little as it is extremely complex. I as you know can only understand things which I can see, and that too only sometimes. I am still struggling with many of your recent ‘ramblings’ but rest assure i do enjoy them.
      Rafi Mian is adorable and as an artist it is his right to say what he thinks. I love his comments too.
      Thanks again. I am encouraged by your support.

       
      • Rafiullah Mian

        April 12, 2012 at 2:36 am

        Shkail Akhtar sahib,
        Shukria
        Shukria
        🙂

         
      • Blood-Ink-Diary

        April 12, 2012 at 10:47 am

        My “ramblings” (as you call my writings) are abstract and I write only to release my own thoughts and feelings, no problems if you are struggling with them….I think that is a great thing. Most people would also struggle at a painting by Picasso, for an artist that is a blessing. Not that I am at all comapring my “ramblings” to a brilliant artist like Picasso.

        Aur rahee baat Rafi Mian kee — Shakil, where did you get the notion that I was undermining Rafiuallah’s thoughts? Yes, of course he is “adorable and as an artist it is his right to say what he thinks” — did I say anything agianst Rafi’s comments? In fact, I was aligning my views with Rafi’s.

         
      • shakilakhtar

        April 12, 2012 at 5:41 pm

        are are aap to naaraz ho gayeen
        sorry but I never meant to be derogatry while using that term, only it was out of love.
        aqalmand ko ishara kafi hota hai
        aur agar woh na samjhe to yeh matlab nahin ke ishara na kafi hai. woh hi aqalmand nahin hai. Similarly I never meant that you wrote something unrealistic for Rafi Mian’s comments. Ghalib bhi kahte hain
        hai bas ke har ek unke ishare men nishan aur
        karte hain mohobbat to guzarta hain guman aur

        ya rab na woh samjhe hain na samjhen ge meri baat
        de aur dil unko jo na de mujh ko zuban aur.

        Sorry again if I ever made you unhappy. Cheers.

         
    • Rafiullah Mian

      April 12, 2012 at 2:34 am

      Aha, Shaheen, you are quite right about the reasoning and logic. But, I said it in light mood that is what I used a mischievous word…Tiya-Paancha… 🙂

       
      • Blood-Ink-Diary

        April 12, 2012 at 10:40 am

        I don’t know what prompted such a remark from both you and Shakil, as I was simply agreeing with what you wrote as a poet. Perhaps, my sense of humour does not align with the masters of thoughts.

         
  5. Blood-Ink-Diary

    April 12, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    Shakil sahab, my dear, I am not at all naaraz. Shayad, we did not grasp the others’ humour or expression, which I am certain is out of love and not hurtful. I respect you and Rafiullah in my journey – through the blog, we are all companions in the lamba safar aur chhotee sii zindagi.
    We are all learning each other’s expressions in conveying thoughts on comment box.
    Khush rahein, Shakil sahab

     
    • shakilakhtar

      April 12, 2012 at 9:39 pm

      Thank you very much Shaheen for your understanding. I also like this journey and hope we will sail through it together and learn/educate in the process.
      May Allah bless you always.

       
    • Rafiullah Mian

      April 13, 2012 at 12:49 am

      Arayyyyyyy……
      In my absence, kia kia na hua yahaN. uff God….
      By God, main nay zarra barabar bhi koi baat mehsoos nahi ki hay. I love always all the thoughts you lovable people express with me.
      “Zara si baat thi barh kar khana kahan pohnchi” (pata nahi kisi ka misra hay bhi ya nahi ye)

      Most respectful Shaheen Ji, ap k comments main koi undermining wali bat nahi hay, main bohot sharmindagi mehsoos kar raha hon…

      Janab Shakil Akhtar sahib, shukr hay k misunderstanding door hogayi hay. Main ap jesay respectable shkhsiaat ki bohot qadr aor muhabbat karta hoN. mujh se koi ghalati hoi ho, tu darguzar kejiyega.

       
  6. Blood-Ink-Diary

    April 13, 2012 at 11:57 am

    Haye rabba! Lots of love to Shakil sahab & Rafiullah.

     
  7. Sharmishtha

    June 6, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    blackholes are quite scary, are not they if we believe the stories?

     
    • shakilakhtar

      June 8, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      a black hole is called black because no light can escape from it, so can’t be seen. Only theoretical evidence suggests them, I suggest find and read Steven Hopkin’s “A Short History of Time”. HE IS ALSO THE FATHER OF BLACK HOLES.

       

Leave a Reply

 
